Great Divide Waterfall

One thing which is really AWESOME - personally I'd prefer to use WICKED - about Edmonton is the so called Great Divide Waterfall. I have already mentioned it; we were waiting for it - in vain - on Canada Day (some pipes were broken I heard) but fortunately Sylwia told me it's on on other days as well - such as today. (I nearly forgot but Eric was so kind to remind me.)

I've just returned from it. It was GREAT, AMAZING! What they do is to pump water from the Saskatchewan to the top of Highlevel Bridge and it pours down like a waterfall. In fact, as I've just learned from the City of Edmonton Webpage it "is 210 feet high (about 24 feet higher than Niagara Falls)". But I'm sure that despite this 24 feet difference the Niagara Falls would be more impressive..

As so often these day nobody else of the folks was around, which in this case was actually an advantage. I was completely independent, rode my bike around just as it came to my mind, without anyone being annoyed or bored because of me, or without myself being annoyed or bored because of someone else. I've also taken the opportunity to cross the bridge right under the waterfall - and have become completely soaked. (They should have done that waterfall today at noontime, when the sun was burning down. That would have been wicked as well!)

And I took pictures, pictures, pictures - the curse of a digital camera. Unfortunately I can't show you a single one because at some point the battery was empty - the curse of all electronic devices. (I shouldn't have taken that many at dawn and but wait for darkness.) - But I'll update that entry tomorrow or the day after, so have a look at it then!

They'll have the waterfall one last time this year, on September 3, so hopefully then the weather will be as clear as today (I know the good spots now). By then all the present colleagues will have gone (Kamilla has already returned yesterday, David will be the last to leave on August 31) and the four new ones will have arrived. I have to admit that I'm already looking forward to it. Presently they all are in their last weeks, so firstly they are very stressed and have little time, and secondly (with exceptions) it doesn't really make much sense to invest time and feelings into people which you know you'll lose this soon. A further reason is that the friction between the Lilla/David and the Ala/Lucka faction is so open; I mean I don't expect everyone to be best friends but I’d just wish that the people around me would get along reasonably well. As I haven't got any issues with anyone the present situation is just unpleasant. So I hope for improvement..

Whatever, today I had an excellent evening! On days like today and events like this I really love this city..

Quote

Wer die Enge seiner Heimat ermessen will, reise. Wer die Enge seiner Zeit ermessen will, studiere Geschichte. (Kurt Tucholsky, 1890-1935)

Latest Comments

hm...
du hast recht diesen Text zu Analysieren ist ziemlich...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/31 12:15
Hab a no was zum Thema...
Auf den Innsbrucker Vorfall bezogen, heißt das also:...
relationes - 2009/01/27 01:51
hab i no gfunden :)
http://orf.at/090126-34295 /index.html
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/26 14:39
@ little brother: mehr...
@ little brother: mehr als 1/4 der Österreicher sind...
Zita (Gast) - 2009/01/20 10:09
ahhh
Na den hatte ich tatsächlich nicht mehr in Erinnerung.Na...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/20 09:36
LOL. Scharfsinnigst auf...
LOL. Scharfsinnigst auf den Punkt gebracht, little...
relationes - 2009/01/20 03:31
Ja,ja böse Bettler belästigen...
Ja,ja böse Bettler belästigen Kirchenbesucher in dem...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/19 23:37

Weblog Search

 

Archive

August 2006
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 5 
16
18
19
20
21
29
 
 
 
 

Status

Online seit 6547 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 2009/05/28 01:48

Web Counter-Module

E-Mail

wr1te2-relationes (.at.) yahoo.co.uk

Beyond Edmonton
Blogistan
City Lights and Darks
Cultural Notes
Die Sprache(n) die wir (mehr oder weniger) sprechen
History is MyStory
Sport(kultur)
Von Tag zu Tag
Zitiert und Kommentiert
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren