Out in the snow..

Just a couple of pictures from yesterday's little walk with the international centre. We visited the Silver Skate festival in Hawrelak park (which in summer was the location of the Heritage festival I failed to report on).

They had sculptures, but in contrast to Ice on Whyte they looked more like made of snow than of ice. I really liked this one, a combination of a female dancer and an eagle.

Then we also had a version of bannock, a traditional food of the natives. A dough of flour and water (ours was sweetened with cinnamon or sugar) is wrapped around a stick and cooked over open fire.

Actually I had planned to return today evening to see the sculptures in the dark but dismissed the plan because I caught a little cough. I'm sure it was the skating. Yep, skating. For the first time since more than ten years I stood on skates. Terrible. Well, I managed to survive the whole hour without falling a single time but I was close quite often. I'm sure you can see on my posethat I was not very stable. It definitely was an experience for Ali, who arrived here from Iran only a couple of weeks ago. For the first time he did a good job and at least he tried unlike his countryman didn't dare. Despite my insecurity I enjoyed it very much. I really should go again - preferably earlier than in 10 years time...

For technical reasons I couldn't use a slide-show.. sorry you have to click on each photo separately..
title title title title title title title title title title title title title

Quote

Wer die Enge seiner Heimat ermessen will, reise. Wer die Enge seiner Zeit ermessen will, studiere Geschichte. (Kurt Tucholsky, 1890-1935)

Latest Comments

hm...
du hast recht diesen Text zu Analysieren ist ziemlich...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/31 12:15
Hab a no was zum Thema...
Auf den Innsbrucker Vorfall bezogen, heißt das also:...
relationes - 2009/01/27 01:51
hab i no gfunden :)
http://orf.at/090126-34295 /index.html
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/26 14:39
@ little brother: mehr...
@ little brother: mehr als 1/4 der Österreicher sind...
Zita (Gast) - 2009/01/20 10:09
ahhh
Na den hatte ich tatsächlich nicht mehr in Erinnerung.Na...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/20 09:36
LOL. Scharfsinnigst auf...
LOL. Scharfsinnigst auf den Punkt gebracht, little...
relationes - 2009/01/20 03:31
Ja,ja böse Bettler belästigen...
Ja,ja böse Bettler belästigen Kirchenbesucher in dem...
little brother (Gast) - 2009/01/19 23:37

Weblog Search

 

Archive

Februar 2007
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 
 1 
 5 
 6 
 8 
14
15
16
19
22
23
25
26
27
 
 
 
 
 

Status

Online seit 6547 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 2009/05/28 01:48

Web Counter-Module

E-Mail

wr1te2-relationes (.at.) yahoo.co.uk

Beyond Edmonton
Blogistan
City Lights and Darks
Cultural Notes
Die Sprache(n) die wir (mehr oder weniger) sprechen
History is MyStory
Sport(kultur)
Von Tag zu Tag
Zitiert und Kommentiert
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren